Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA) has named 24 recent high school graduates of Hopkins County as Sen. Jeff Green Scholars. Three of them graduated from Dawson Springs High School.

This recognition honors the late Sen. Green of Mayfield who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.

To be eligible for this award, students must have had a 4.0 grade point average all four years of high school and at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

Three out of the twenty-four students were from Dawson Springs High School. Alysta Butts, Colton Collins, and Hunter McGee were named scholars by KHEAA.

They have also earned $10,000 to use toward a four-year degree ($2,500 a year) in Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarhip (KEES) awards, if they keep their grades up while in college.

 KHEAA disburses KEES and other Kentucky student aid programs. The Kentucky lottery proceeds help fund KEES awards and are accepted at most Kentucky colleges and  universities. If a student is pursuing a degree not offered in Kentucky, the award may be used out-of-state. KEES awards does not require an application.

For more information about Kentucky scholarships and grants, visit